Skip to main content

2023 Tzedek Awards

About Us

Tzedek Awards

The JCRC Tzedek Awards Ceremony is a yearly event that brings together the Jewish, intergroup, and interfaith communities in St. Louis to celebrate our ongoing relationships.  Ten outstanding community members whose work embodies the mission of the JCRC and strengthens the region as a whole were recognized at this year's ceremony.  

Award Honorees 2023

Dr. Arlene & Rabbi Jeffrey Stiffman, Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award
Marie Kenyon, Norman A. Stack Community Relations Award
Nancy Solomon Desloge, Michael and Barbara Newmark Emerging Leader Award
Donn Rubin, Joel and Joanne Iskiwitch Israel Award

Michael and Barbara Newmark Institute for Human Relations Pluralism Awards:
The Reverend Mike Angell
Caroline Fan
Reverend Gabrielle NS Kennedy
Ram Lakshmanan
Guillermo A. Rodriguez

Click each image below to view the honoree videos.


Gallery - Enjoy Our Favorite Moments From Last Year's Event

Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award

Batya Abramson-Goldstein has devoted her professional life to community relations and strengthening relationships between the Jewish community and the broader St. Louis community, earning the personal respect and admiration of so many along the way. During her 26-year tenure with the Jewish Community Relations Council, the last 12 years serving as the Executive Director, Abramson-Goldstein developed innovative programming to foster a broad awareness of our shared humanity and inspire a passion for the pursuit of social justice.

The purpose of the Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award is to recognize those whose exceptional leadership and vision have had an enduring impact on the JCRC and its community relations mission.

Past Recipients (2019-2022):

Norman A. Stack Community Relations Award 2021

The Norman A. Stack Community Relations Award was established in the memory of past JCRC Executive Director Norman Stack. It honors a leader in the community who has worked tirelessly in intergroup understanding, interfaith relations, and social justice work. 

Past Recipients (1989-2022):

  • O’Ray Graber *
  • Dean Michael Allen *
  • Margaret Sonnenday *
  • Reverend Rudy Pulido 
  • James Buford *
  • Reverend William Chapman *
  • Ronald L. Jackson 
  • Harry James Cargas *
  • Gregory Freeman *
  • Reverend Paul C. Reinert; S.J. *
  • Father Vincent A. Heier 
  • Dr. Waheed Rana *
  • Anna Crosslin 
  • Rev. Dr. Martin Rafanan 
  • Frankie Freeman *
  • Charles Brennan 
  • Chris Chadwick 
  • Reverend Dr. David Greenhaw  
  • Reverend Dr. Michael Kinnamon 
  • Dr. Robert Archibald 
  • Dr. Dennis Golden 
  • Rev. Dr. Paul T. Reiter 
  • Ghazala Hayat; MD 
  • Father Richard A. Peddicord; O.P 
  • Sr. Carla Mae Streeter; O.P 
  • Timothy O’Leary 
  • Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble
  • Paul Reuter
  • Fr. Paul Stark; S.J.*
  • Jorge Riopedre
  • Michael P. McMillan
  • F. Javier Orozco, OFS, PHD 
  • Rev. Dr. Dieter Heinzl
  • Dr. Donald Suggs
  • Dr. Frances Levine
  • Rev. Roderick Burton

* of blessed memory


Michael & Barbara Newmark Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leaders award seeks to inspire emerging leaders to be more active in their roles within the JCRC. The purpose of the award is to fund the recipient's attendance at a national meeting so they can be exposed to the same type of training as the award's sponsors. 

Past Recipients (1989-2022):

Milton I. and Marle K. Goldstein Scholarship

Each year, the Milton I. and Merle K. Goldstein Scholarship Fund provides a partial college scholarship to a graduating senior who demonstrates significant need and outstanding achievement at Soldan International Studies High School, the much-valued alma mater of both Milton and Merle Goldstein. It is administered by Jewish Community Relations Council (JCRC). Milton Goldstein was President of the JCRC and a national officer on the board of its national organization. This year's awardee is Anissa Smith.

Special Tribute

Past Recipient (2022)

  • Jill Schupp
  • JFed Partners Logo
    JFed Partners Logo