Skip to main content

Celebrating Leadership

About Us

Tzedek Awards

The JCRC Tzedek Awards Ceremony is a yearly event that brings together the Jewish, intergroup, and interfaith communities in St. Louis to celebrate our ongoing relationships.  Three awards are also given to recognize outstanding members of the community whose work embodies the mission of the JCRC and strengthens the region as a whole. 

Michael & Barbara Newmark Emerging Leader Award 2021: Julia Mendelow

The Emerging Leaders award seeks to inspire emerging leaders to be more active in their roles within the JCRC. The purpose of the award is to fund the recipient's attendance at a national meeting so they can be exposed to the same type of training as the award's sponsors. 

Past Recipients (1989-2018):

  • O’Ray Graber 
  • Dean Michael Allen *
  • Margaret Sonnenday 
  • Reverend Rudy Pulido 
  • James Buford 
  • Reverend William Chapman *
  • Ronald L. Jackson 
  • Harry James Cargas *
  • Gregory Freeman *
  • Reverend Paul C. Reinert; S.J. *
  • Father Vincent A. Heier 
  • Dr. Waheed Rana 
  • Anna Crosslin 
  • Rev. Dr. Martin Rafanan 
  • Frankie Freeman *
  • Charles Brennan 
  • Chris Chadwick 
  • Reverend Dr. David Greenhaw  
  • Reverend Dr. Michael Kinnamon 
  • Dr. Robert Archibald 
  • Dr. Dennis Golden 
  • Rev. Dr. Paul T. Reiter 
  • Ghazala Hayat; MD 
  • Father Richard A. Peddicord; O.P 
  • Sr. Carla Mae Streeter; O.P 
  • Timothy O’Leary 
  • Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble
  • Paul Reuter
  • Fr. Paul Stark; S.J.
  • Jorge Riopedre
  • Michael P. McMillan
  • F. Javier Orozco, OFS, PHD 
  • Reverend Dr. Dieter Heinzl
  • Rick Abrams

* of blessed memory

Norman A. Stack Community Relations Award 2021: Dr. Frances Levine

The Norman A. Stack Community Relations Award was established in the memory of past JCRC Executive Director Norman Stack. It honors a leader in the community who has worked tirelessly in intergroup understanding, interfaith relations, and social justice work. 

Past Recipients (1989-2018):

  • Philip Deitsch
  • Denise Field
  • Donn Rubin
  • Josh Avigad
  • Gerry Greiman
  • Anna Ginsberg
  • Susan Mlynarczyk
  • Andrew Rehfeld
  • Josh Kalishman
  • Phyllis Markus
  • Brad Kafka
  • Steve Malter
  • Hilary Cedergreen
  • Les Sterman
  • Jeffrey Sparks
  • Deborah Price
  • Joe Pereles
  • Cheryl Adelstein
  • Dr. Donald Suggs

Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award 2021: Harvey Schneider

Batya Abramson-Goldstein has devoted her professional life to community relations and strengthening relationships between the Jewish community and the broader St. Louis community, earning the personal respect and admiration of so many along the way. During her 26-year tenure with the Jewish Community Relations Council, the last 12 years serving as the Executive Director, Abramson-Goldstein developed innovative programming to foster a broad awareness of our shared humanity and inspire a passion for the pursuit of social justice.

The purpose of the Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award is to recognize those whose exceptional leadership and vision have had an enduring impact on the JCRC and its community relations mission.

Past Recipients (2019):

  • Lynn and Dr. Carl Lyss

Milton I. and Marle K. Goldstein Scholarship 2019: Zuri Jackson

Each year, the Milton I. and Merle K. Goldstein Scholarship Fund the fund provides a partial college scholarship to a financially needy graduating senior at Soldan International Studies High School, the much valued alma mater of both Milton and Merle Goldstein. It is administered by Jewish Community Relations Council (JCRC). Milton Goldstein was President of the JCRC and a national officer on the board of its national organization.

  • The JCRC is a beneficiary organization of the Jewish Federation of St. Louis

    The JCRC is a beneficiary organization of the Jewish Federation of St. Louis