Skip to main content

Upcoming Events & Programs

Tzedek Awards

At JCRC, we believe that justice is at the foundation of everything we do. That's why we're thrilled to announce our annual Tzedek Awards Ceremony, where we bring together the Jewish, intergroup, and interfaith communities in St. Louis to celebrate our ongoing relationships and honor individuals who stand out as leaders of justice in our city. 

The word Tzedek, which means "justice" in Hebrew, represents our commitment to creating a fair and equitable society for all. This year's honorees embody the mission of JCRC and have made significant contributions to strengthening our region as a whole. 

We invite you to join us for this special event and celebrate the inspiring work of these justice leaders. Let's come together as a community to recognize their achievements and continue our shared commitment to creating a more just world.

-Jeff & Carly Sparks and Dana & Barry Sandweiss
Tzedek Awards Co-Chairs

Please contact our Program Director Elyse Picker at with questions and look out for a mailed invitation in April.

Award Honorees 2024

Thank you to our Tzedek Awards Sponsors:

For more information about Tzedek Awards sponsorship opportunities, please contact our Program Director Elyse Picker at

Gallery - Enjoy Our Favorite Moments From Last Year's Event

Photo Credit: Bill Motchan and Philip Deitch


Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award

Batya Abramson-Goldstein has devoted her professional life to community relations and strengthening relationships between the Jewish community and the broader St. Louis community, earning the personal respect and admiration of so many along the way. During her 26-year tenure with the Jewish Community Relations Council, the last 12 years serving as the Executive Director, Abramson-Goldstein developed innovative programming to foster a broad awareness of our shared humanity and inspire a passion for the pursuit of social justice.

The purpose of the Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award is to recognize those whose exceptional leadership and vision have had an enduring impact on the JCRC and its community relations mission.

Past Recipients (2019-2023):

Norman A. Stack Community Relations Award 2021

The Norman A. Stack Community Relations Award was established in the memory of past JCRC Executive Director Norman Stack. It honors a leader in the community who has worked tirelessly in intergroup understanding, interfaith relations, and social justice work. 

Past Recipients (1989-2023):

  • Marie Kenyon
  • O’Ray Graber *
  • Dean Michael Allen *
  • Margaret Sonnenday *
  • Reverend Rudy Pulido 
  • James Buford *
  • Reverend William Chapman *
  • Ronald L. Jackson 
  • Harry James Cargas *
  • Gregory Freeman *
  • Reverend Paul C. Reinert; S.J. *
  • Father Vincent A. Heier 
  • Dr. Waheed Rana *
  • Anna Crosslin 
  • Rev. Dr. Martin Rafanan 
  • Frankie Freeman *
  • Charles Brennan 
  • Chris Chadwick 
  • Reverend Dr. David Greenhaw  
  • Reverend Dr. Michael Kinnamon 
  • Dr. Robert Archibald 
  • Dr. Dennis Golden 
  • Rev. Dr. Paul T. Reiter 
  • Ghazala Hayat; MD 
  • Father Richard A. Peddicord; O.P 
  • Sr. Carla Mae Streeter; O.P 
  • Timothy O’Leary 
  • Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble
  • Paul Reuter
  • Fr. Paul Stark; S.J.*
  • Jorge Riopedre
  • Michael P. McMillan
  • F. Javier Orozco, OFS, PHD 
  • Rev. Dr. Dieter Heinzl
  • Dr. Donald Suggs
  • Dr. Frances Levine
  • Rev. Roderick Burton

* of blessed memory


Michael & Barbara Newmark Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leaders award seeks to inspire emerging leaders to be more active in their roles within the JCRC. The purpose of the award is to fund the recipient's attendance at a national meeting so they can be exposed to the same type of training as the award's sponsors. 

Past Recipients (1989-2023):

Joel & Joanne Iskiwitch Israel Award

The Joel and Joanne Iskiwitch Israel Award was established in 2023. This award recognizes the work of individuals or organizations who enhance connection between the St Louis community and Israel through economic ties, education, and/or advocacy.


Michael and Barbara Newmark Institute for Human Relations Pluralism Award

The Newmark Institute for Human Relations Pluralism Award, inaugurated in 2023, are given to five individuals whose work advances a pluralistic society where diverse religious, racial, and ethnic groups live and work together and their differences enhance the community.


  • The Reverend Mike Angell
  • Caroline Fan
  • Reverend Gabrielle NS Kennedy
  • Ram Lakshmanan
  • Guillermo A. Rodriguez

Milton I. and Marle K. Goldstein Scholarship

Each year, the Milton I. and Merle K. Goldstein Scholarship Fund provides a partial college scholarship to a graduating senior who demonstrates significant need and outstanding achievement at Soldan International Studies High School, the much-valued alma mater of both Milton and Merle Goldstein. It is administered by Jewish Community Relations Council (JCRC). Milton Goldstein was President of the JCRC and a national officer on the board of its national organization. This year's awardee is Anissa Smith.

Special Tribute

Past Recipient (2022)

  • Jill Schupp
  • JFed Partners Logo
    JFed Partners Logo